The State Library of Victoria Foundation is dedicated to building relationships with members of the community who recognise the importance of the State Library and want to contribute to its work. Since its establishment in 1994, the Foundation has helped the Library by raising funds through its Friends of the Library program, donations, sponsorships and bequests.

These funds help us purchase items of historical significance, conserve and develop our magnificent collections, add to and digitise our collections, deliver information services, mount exhibitions, run educational and cultural events, fund creative fellowships, publish the La Trobe Journal online and in hard copy and publish the State Library of Victoria News, among many other things.


The Foundation is led by a director, Ben Clark, who reports to the Library CEO.

The Trustee of the Foundation is the Library Board of Victoria. The Board has established a Foundation Council to provide advice and philanthropic, corporate and other support and sponsorship. 

Members of the Council are Christine Christian (Chair), David Evans, Jane Hansen, Michael Kay, Doug Kefford AO, Stephen Kerr, Richard Lourey, David Mullaly, Maria Myers AO and John Wylie AM.

The Foundation's publication of the La Trobe Journal is overseen by an editor, John Arnold, and an eight-person committee.

More to explore