Writes of Spring

The Writes of Spring winners have been announced! 

Writes of Spring was a short story competition open to all ages from 27 August to 21 September 2012. Entrants were invited to collect a Writes of Spring postcard entry-form from their local public library and write, draw or paste a story (inspired by Belinda Suzette's vibrant illustration) directly onto the postcard.

Over 2,400 creative, surprising and intriguing entries were submitted. Entries were judged by a panel of Victorian public library staff. 

The winners of the Writes of Spring competition are: 

Adam Deverell, Hobsons Bay Libraries
Alison Lloyd, Yarra Plenty Regional Library Service
Catherine Shannon, Yarra Libraries
Christine Evans, Hume Libraries
Clare Pryor, High Country Library Corporation
Cynthia Mortyn, High Country Library Corporation
Denise Geoghegan, Yarra Plenty Regional Library Service
Emma Hill, Monash Public Library Service
Esme Van Der Schee, Maribyrnong Library Service
Esther May Mensch, Central Highlands Libraries
Fin J Ross, East Gippsland Shire Library
Isobel Bromley, Goldfields Library Corporation
Jacqueline Jeeves, Glen Eira Library Service
Jan Rebgetz, Eastern Regional Libraries Corporation
Jasper Henson, Casey-Cardinia Library Corporation
Jean Hume, Maribyrnong Library Service
Jen Huffer, Mitchell Shire Library & Information Service
Jenette Callow, Corangamite Regional Library Corporation
Jennifer Mai, Melton Library & Information Service
Jessica Gray, Yarra Plenty Regional Library Service
Jill Forrest, High Country Library Corporation
Jim Murphy, Mornington Peninsula Library Service
Julee Stillman, Melton Library & Information Service
Julia Morant, Wimmera Regional Library Corporation
Juqing Wu, Eastern Regional Libraries Corporation
Katherine Bubb, Eastern Regional Libraries Corporation
Kirsty Hawkes, Corangamite Regional Library Corporation
Louise Hartley, Eastern Regional Libraries Corporation
Lyn Cosham, Campaspe Regional Library
Pat Pastore, Hobsons Bay Libraries
Ping Hu, Monash Public Library Service
Rosie Abbott, East Gippsland Shire Library
Sandra More, High Country Library Corporation
Scott Porter, Eastern Regional Libraries Corporation
Teake Schroder, Murrindindi Library Service

View all the winning entries online on the State Library's Flickr page.

Winning entries have been published in a book that will become part of the collection of every public library in Victoria. Winners receive a $50 book voucher, a copy of the book and a place in Victoria's literary history.

Writes of Spring is hosted by Victorian public libraries as part of the National Year of Reading.